Interview with Author Xtina Marie

Greetings book lovers!

Today, I’m featuring an interview with author Xtina Marie. She writes dark poetry and is collaborating with author A.R.Vidal on a couple of projects. I’ve gotten to know her in the past few weeks and she is a talented, hilarious woman who really hates mornings and loves teddy bears. Her new poetry collection, Dark Musings, will be available May 8, 2016 from Fat Lip Press.

xtina

  1. So, Xtina, what is your actual name? Xtina..short for Christina 🙂
  2. Is Xtina Marie your only pen name? Yes
  3. What genres do you write in? I am a jack of all trades…horror, rom/com, erotica, whatever tickles my fancy at the moment.
  4. Sounds great, but what’s your favorite genre to write in? For my poetry, the darker the better. I especially love writing about dark, consuming, obsessive love – it seems to be a reoccurring theme.
  5. Where in the world are you? Oh the Carmen Sandiego comebacks….LOL…I am in Tennessee. I just moved here last year from Florida and I am absolutely loving the weather.
  6. Where is your favorite place to write? Not so sure about the where, because I always have some way to write at all times, no matter where I am. It’s more of a time, I suppose. I need alone time, quiet time.
  7. How long have you been writing? I was writing back in middle school..horror stories that I was passing around to my classmates when we should have been doing work.
  8. What was your first initiation into horror? I have always been a horror movie fan, and when I found my love of reading, it was horror. I remember the first book I bought with my own money was a YA horror novel. Writing horror was just a natural progression.
  9. What does your writing playlist look like? Depends on what I am writing. I’m working on a story right now that starts in the year 1962 and I pull up hits from that year to get me in that time. Music plays a huge part in my writing. Another playlist I use fairly often consists of In This Moment, Halestorm and Johnny Hollow. However, I need silence for my poetry.
  10. Where do you look for inspiration? With my poetry, my life events are what inspire me. I have a tendency to feel HARD and DEEP (haha, that sounds a tad dirty, but I swear it isn’t…much…totally). I get hurt way too much and I channel that hurt into anger, which produces some rather dark works *smiles sweetly…
  11. What is the darkest topic or situation you’ve written about? Tough question. I wrote a few poems where the main character is or has committed suicide. I’ve written a poem on domestic violence, and, although it may not be blatant, I write about severe mental illness, and being that my poetry comes from within me, and is not fiction to me. Those are pretty dark topics.
  12. What project are you working on now? I’m always writing poetry. I have 2 projects that I am co-writing with A.R. Vidal, and a romance story that has been nagging to be written for a few months now.
  13. Of all the characters you’ve created, who is your favorite and why? Hmmm….since the book I am releasing is poetry, and being that 98% of the poems are inspired by my own feelings, the characters are pretty much all me. That being said, I love the voice of the Oh So Completely series- there was something very emotional and consuming about that storyline. As for my fiction, I have an unfinished novel, a comedy about a gay guy named Wes, and he will always hold a special place in my heart.
  14. What is one thing that you’d never write about? Is there anything that’s off-limits? I have no problem pushing the envelope. I am not a fan of historical romance, so that is definitely not a genre I would ever go in the direction of, and I would always shy away from incest.
  15. What do you hope your readers will take away from reading your books? I want to evoke emotion. From my poetry, I want them to shudder, gasp, maybe even hurt or shed a tear. With my fiction, I want to be able to pull the reader into the story, I want them to feel the grass beneath the character’s feet, feel the breeze on their skin.
  16. If you could have any career, other than writing, what would it be? Is this assuming I have talent in said career? LOL! I have always loved music. It’s always playing and I absolutely cannot stand it when people turn my fucking music down. I would love to be musically inclined, to play an instrument, or to be able to sing well.
  17. When you’re not writing, what do you do with your time? I am a stay at home mother of a pre-teen son *flips hair, how glamorous, I know. I also moonlight as a book blogger and I am an avid reader.
  18. Who is the greatest influence in your writing career? When I was in high school, I was hanging out with a bad crowd and kind of starting to get into trouble, and I had this one study hall teacher who really disliked me because I was always disrupting the class. Anyhow, the next year, I got this same teacher for English, which, of course was my favorite subject, and I was like FUCK! LOL! However, she believed that I had talent, and she pushed me to work harder at refining said talent. Part 2 of this question (yes there is a part 2, I can be long winded at times…LOL) I read a book called Here’s To Falling, by Christine Zolendz, and it brought me to my knees. I had never been moved so passionately by a book. Not only did I cry, but I cried fat, ugly tears and I reached out to her on Facebook to tell her just that, and we became friends. One day while we were chatting, I asked what she was up to, and she told me that she was proofreading a book of poetry for a friend, and this light bulb went off in my head. Up till this point, I rarely shared my poetry- they were just a way to purge my heart when it needed to bleed. Well, I made some lame joke about author/fan etiquette and how there was this unspoken rule that you weren’t to ask your author friends to read your shit, and I followed that with, “Wanna read my shit?” LOL! To make a long story – well I was gonna say short, but I’ve already blew that one – she loved my poems, and it was her that encouraged me to actually give putting together a book of poetry a shot.
  19. If you could spend one hour with anyone, who would it be and what would you talk about or do? This is not an easy question at all. There are so many different sorts of answers for this. I could go all intellectual and tell you Socrates or the Dali Lama or some shit, but I will tell ya a little story. I read The Heroin Diaries by Nikki Sixx a few years ago. I was never a huge Crue fan, I thought they were okay, but no big deal,b ut the book caught my attention. I read it and I think I fell a little in love with the man during the read. It was that emotional, that compelling, and after I closed the last page, I could just as easily opened it back up to the beginning and start it all over again. It moved me in a very profound way.
  20. Where did you get the inspiration for your latest work? The collection of poetry is this volume was directly inspired by raw emotions – hurt, despair, loss, anger, malice, evil- to name a few.
  21. Describe your latest book in ten words or less. Dark, consuming, intense, unhealthy at times, love LOL

Find Xtina Marie
Author page ➜ http://tinyurl.com/qhzr7py
Friend me ➜ http://tinyurl.com/zmdx7cd
Twitter ➜ http://tinyurl.com/hbnpqfx
Goodreads ➜ http://tinyurl.com/z928djo

 

 

Leave a Reply

