Author Spotlight: Markie Jordan-Madden

Today I’m interviewing Markie Jordan-Madden in honor of the release of her new book Claw and Fang: Undead Unit Series Book 1. I met Markie through several author groups of which I am a member. She is a delightful person and a very talented writer.

Markie

Markie’s book, Fang and Claw, will be available October 4th but is available now for pre-order on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Fang-Claw-Undead-Unit-Book-ebook/dp/B010ZG317C

Blurb:

Lieutenant Lacey Anderson of the Dallas Police Department heads up an elite new squad dedicated to solving crimes involving Immortals like herself. Lacey, a Vampire left for dead when her family was slaughtered by Werewolves, still has nightmares about the attack.

Detective Colton Scarber is her unwilling partner and second-in-command. He’s a Werewolf, a descendant of those who killed Lacey’s coven. She’s unaware of this, but she doesn’t trust him from the start. When the fragile beginning of the team is threatened by the truth, can they learn to trust one another as partners must, or will the Undead Unit be doomed to failure?

A mysterious suspect and strange physical evidence leads them to solve a case spanning decades and leaves Lacey with no other choice but to rely on her enemy when her very life is at stake!

Now let’s take a few moments to get to know Markie.

  1. What is your name?

My full name is Marguerite but there’s another author by the same name, but she writes technical stuff on geography. So I decided to use my nickname Markie to publish.

  1. Do you have any pen name(s)?

None

  1. What genres do you write in?

Well, are you ready for this? Memoir, Self-help in horse care, dystopian/paranormal/romance, and Crime/paranormal.

  1. Where in the world are you?

I’m in a small fan town in southeast Missouri called Fisk.

  1. Where is your favorite place to write?

Since I started writing (again) after cancer, I did most of my writing in bed while recovering. Though now I have space in the dining room that doubles as my office, I still often write in bed, because my husband has to work early and my most creative time is late at night.

  1. How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing since the fourth grade; I guess though I got really involved in it back in high school.

  1. What are you working on now?

Right now I’m working on the second book in the Undead Unit called Souls of the Reaper. It’s about a rogue Reaper who steals souls before their time and instead of releasing them, he keeps their energy, making him grow more powerful.

  1. What do you hope your readers will take away from reading your books?

Well, this is tough. I want to entertain, of course, but with the Undead Unit Series, I also hope to bring understanding to the trails facing the minorities in society.

  1. What career would you choose if you weren’t a writer?

I would definitely be an Egyptologist! Or something of the sort. Ancient civilizations fascinate me and if love to visit and study, and preserve, some of humanity’s oldest places!

  1. When you’re not writing, what hobby takes up you time?

My horse takes up a lot of my time when I’m not writing, especially when the weather’s nice. A friend once jokingly called me a “fair weather” rider, but it’s true. If it’s too hot for me, then it is for Athena, and if it’s too cold for me, I’m not stupid enough to go out in it!

  1. Who is the greatest influence in your writing career?

I don’t think there can be just one. Walter Farley (the Black Stallion Series), Carolyn Keene (I think – the Nancy Drew books) were early influences. Now JD Robb, Nora Roberts, Kay Hooper, and Patricia Cornwall are big influencers.

  1. If you could be a fly on the wall in any author’s office, who would it be and why?

Probably Kay Hooper. Oh, I don’t know, this is a tough question!

  1. What is one thing that you know now that you wish someone would have told you when you first started writing.

Well, someone did tell me. An English teacher, who was self-published back when it wasn’t cool and had to PAY to have his books printed, told me never to give up on writing. He always said that if there was no way to publish now, there may be down the road. And see now? He was right. Alas, I think he passed away a few years ago, so I can’t tell him how much he meant to me.

  1. Where did you get the inspiration for Fang and Claw?

It was after a marathon session of Supernatural DVDs, and it was that twilight moment between wakefulness and sleep when the idea struck. I knew at that moment that there would be four books in the series and their titles. I base my immortal characters on creatures for which lore and legend exist the world. Book four is going to be about a Siren. The series will include vampires, werewolves, zombies (yes, there’s actual stories from Africa about them), reapers, even demons and angels (without any religious connotation to them)!

  1. Describe your latest book in ten words or less.

A riveting and surprising mix of crime and the paranormal!

 

Leave a Reply

